R.I.P. Carla Swart

I found out about Carla on Wednesday morning while I was out training.  We weren’t close.  In fact, we only ever talked at races.  When I heard she signed to HTC this year, I could only be happy for her.  She was one of the most talented people I’ve ever had the pleasure of racing with and against.


Even though we rarely spoke, I’ve thought about her a lot these last couple months.  She had proved to me that someone I knew, someone my age could ride for HTC.  She was my role model.


I still can’t believe she’s gone, but I’m thankful that I was able to tell her “congrats” on her accomplishment before she passed.  My heart goes out to her family and friends.  I’ll miss you, Carla.  You would have been one of the few people I knew in Qatar.

 

Posted on January 20, 2011, in Life in the Saddle. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

