To Be Gluten Free

It’s 4:42am and I’m wide awake!  Still suffering from jet lag from Qatar.  Might as well blog for a bit…


On Monday while I was at the grocery store, I decided I was going to try the gluten-free thing for awhile.  I was first introduced to the gluten-free diet by my ex-teammate, Alison Powers in 2009.  She was avoiding gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye, because she had an allergy to it, a condition known as celiac disease.  But many pro athletes who aren’t allergic to gluten adopt the gluten-free diet because it forces you to eat foods that are high in fiber, low on the glycemic index and glycemic load scales, and anti-inflammatory. The fiber improves your digestion, the low GI and GL help your body burn fat, and food with anti-inflammatory properties are good for recovery.  

The glycemic index was created in the early 80’s for people with diabetes (something I’m certainly familiar with going into my third year with Team Type 1).  
Classification GI range Examples
Low GI 55 or less most fruits and vegetableslegumes/pulseswhole grainsnutsfructose and products low in carbohydrates
Medium GI 56–69 whole wheat products, basmati ricesweet potatosucrose
High GI 70 and above baked potatoeswatermelonwhite bread, most white ricescorn flakesextruded breakfast cerealsglucose

However, “a GI value tells you only how rapidly a particular carbohydrate turns into sugar. It doesn’t tell you how much of that carbohydrate is in a serving of a particular food” (http://www.mendosa.com/gilists.htm). Therefore, you’ve got to keep the glycemic load in mind too.  Watermelon, for instance, has a high glycemic index but a low glycemic load so it’s still on the “foods I can eat” list.


Soooo, high fiber, low GI & GL, and anti-inflammatory – that’s why I’m going gluten-free.  
Also, I touched Heinrich Haussler’s bike on Friday while I was chatting with the old TT1 men’s mechanic who now works for Garmin-Cervelo.  Something to do with why he won on Tuesday? Maybe…
Posted on February 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I've been adding some gluten free foods to my diet..it's working well. Love the post! Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

