My Strange Addiction

Morgan and I are sitting in the living room of her new house in Athens, GA watching the show, My Strange Addiction, on TLC.  I can’t help but wonder if me and all of my friends could be eligible on the basis of how much time we spend riding and/or thinking about bikes.  Some of these people do stuff like eat chalk, shop uncontrollably, or suck their thumbs.  But in the last show there was a guy who ran 20 miles a day and a girl (looked like a man) who lifted weights 5-6 hours a day…that hits pretty close to home.


Seems like there’s quite a fine line between a hobby, a job, and an addiction.


Anyway…things are good on the riding/training front.  This week was my first build week so it was jam-packed with intervals.  Definitely looking forward to my off day tomorrow!  The only issue I’m having is finding good, gluten-free ride food. Today, I rode with gluten-free cookies, gels, Fritos, and Dots…haha.  I’m gunna have to do some consulting with some other gluten-free cyclists for better suggestions.  The next thing I’m going to try is baked sweet potatoes that just slide right into your back pocket.


Athens has been great so far, and Thomas’ birthday party was really chill.  Headed to the mountains for some training on Wednesday and then Greenville training race on the weekend.
Posted on February 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My riding partner recommends Larabars for gluten-free bars; she says they are sold at Target and grocery stores.

Leave a Reply

