Cake Baking and Euro Prep

I’ve been spending a lot of time on my bike lately, and I’m starting to feel it.  This week’s goal is 21-23 hours, and last week I almost hit twenty.  This is, of course, on top of all the intervals Kori has me doing…ugh.  Fortunately this week is my last big week.  Next week is a rest week, I leave for Europe on Monday, and from there it’s just racing and recovering.  My first race over there will be the Energiewacht Tour from April 7th through the 10th.


Meanwhile, I’ve been watching a lot of Cake Boss on TLC, and I was inspired to go all out for my mother’s birthday on Thursday.  (Sitting around with your feet up just gets boring after awhile).  Here are some pictures.

Chocolate cake with crushed Oreos mixed in

Cream cheese frosting

Dirty icing the cake

My sister, Lizzie, rolling out the faux fondant
Five hours later we have…

The finished product!  Ignore the guacamole in the background.

Lance Brannigan and Jody Lazar over for the party.


Posted on March 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It was delicious, too! The fondant is more decoration than anything else, but it kept the real cake & icing incredibly moist. The Oreos were a special treat!

Leave a Reply

