Summary of My First Euro Tour

Day 1: 100k.  Ha! I can’t remember.  Long week.  I did go down at one point, but it was a graceful crash.  Caught back on no problem.  By the end of the day, I know two words of Dutch: links (left) and rechts (right).   But it’s more like “LINKS LINKS LINKS!” or “RECHTS RECHTS RECHTS!”


Day 2: 80k.  Crashed on my face.  Not my fault, but maybe could have been avoided if I’d been practicing my bunny-hopping-at-the-last-second skillz.  Hung out in the caravan until I caught back up with the group.  Had to keep touching my chin to reassure myself that my face wasn’t falling off/skin wasn’t flapping in the wind.  Saw the front today, but only for a few minutes.


Day 3: 120k.  Spent a significant amount of time at the front today.  Improvement!  At dinner, stage race stomach sets in. CANNOT.  EAT.  ANY.  MORE.  FOOD.  UGH.


Day 4: 88k.  A drag race today.  So unbelievably fast, and hardly a split-second chance to move up.  69th out of 160 something in GC.  Definitely nothing to brag about, but at least I finished.


The third day was the definitely the hardest of the four stages.  We drove the course beforehand with wide eyes.  There were long sections, 10k or so, where the road was five feet wide (just big enough for one small euro car) and had a lot of turns.  The road was raised, completely exposed to gusts of wind, and if there wasn’t a tree you could crash into, there was a canal you would inevitably fall into.  I wouldn’t have been surprised if they decided to throw some alligators in the canals just for fun.


Tomorrow we head to another part of the Netherlands for some one-day racing.  I couldn’t tell you what part we’re going to.  I just spent five days here not knowing where I was until a couple hours ago when a teammate asked me and we went to go look it up on a map.  Was that a run-on sentence?  Looking forward to not having to stuff my face at every meal for the next couple days.


Summary of the summary: I’m learning a lot.  And having a good time 🙂
Posted on April 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great post-race commentary 🙂 Congrats on finishing your first European stage race! Tot ziens!

  2. Watch out for the feared VAM/berg on saturday. Quite steep – about 20% in the beginning. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

