Math Problems & Training

Even my boyfriend is telling me to update my blog now.  Wow, I’m such a slacker!  I suppose he’s got a point though.  I haven’t posted in ten days, and he visits this site more often than that.  No, he doesn’t come to read my blog.  We’ve been trying to coordinate our spring schedules and I, since I don’t ever look at the exact dates of races, usually end up referring him to the schedule on my home page.  Like I’ve said before, these things come in handy for more than just blogging.  Sometimes the “Racing Schedule” section on my blog is the only way I know where I am when I’ve been traveling around Europe in the team van for weeks (that is, assuming I know what day it is).

My spring is going to be a busy one.  Nicola has told us to bring the bare minimum to team camp, but since I’ll be coming straight from Qatar I’ll have a unnecessary amount of equipment and clothes with me.  Here’s my flight lineup: January 29th, leave for Qatar.  I’ll be in Qatar one week.  Then I’ll fly from Qatar to D.C. to California (three time zones more than halfway around the world) for Exergy TWENTY12 team camp in Palm Springs.  After camp, I spend a week in Atlanta doing normal-people things like going to the Picasso to Warhol exhibit at the High Museum of Art (!!!).  I’ll be off to Europe eight or nine days later.  Then finally, I’ll be home on….wait, let me check my home page…March 12th?

Let me summarize that for you: Orlando to Qatar to Palm Springs to Atlanta to Brussels (drive around Europe for two weeks) to Orlando.

In the meantime, I’ll be training in Orlando.  The riding here reminds me of those measuring cup problems from elementary school: If you had a 5-liter bowl and a 3-liter bowl, and an unlimited access to water, how would you measure exactly 4 liters?  In cycling terms: If I have a 35-minute loop and a 22-minute loop, what combination of loops do I need to do to come up with a 2.5-hour ride?

There!  There’s my update.  Promise I’ll have some pictures next time.  Meanwhile, here is a picture of our newly-wrapped team car!

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

